Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Removing Internet Cable Filter

  1. #1
    TEH BANT
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    *Retired*
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,665
    Points
    8,277
    Level
    21
    Points: 8,277, Level: 21
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 173
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Rep Power
    0

    Removing Internet Cable Filter

    Hey, just wondering if anyone knows how to remove the filter from a Coaxial internet cable. Basically, it's at the end of the cable, just before it enters the modem. Damn thing is preventing me from trying out my new TV tuner.



    Any help? :?

  2. #2
    TEH BANT
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    M0D SQUAD HEAD 0FFICE
    Age
    56
    Posts
    1,931
    Points
    14,819
    Level
    29
    Points: 14,819, Level: 29
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 631
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Rep Power
    0
    A sharp knife of some sort. That will take it off.

  3. #3
    TEH BANT
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    *Retired*
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,665
    Points
    8,277
    Level
    21
    Points: 8,277, Level: 21
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 173
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Rep Power
    0
    It's made of metal...unless you mean cutting the cable and re-installing the metal end. I'm considering doing that...going out to buy the supplies today.

    Can you believe the bastards ar Rogers Cable (Canadian) won't even come-over to check it out. Pay for both services, and work for them, and they still treat you like trash (after 5 call transfers and 1 hour of wasted time).

    Moral? Do your own dirty work 'cause no-one's gonna help.

    **Goes to Radio Shack**

  4. #4
    TEH BANT
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Age
    27
    Posts
    199
    Points
    5,003
    Level
    16
    Points: 5,003, Level: 16
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 147
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Rep Power
    0
    i have a cable modem and tv tuner card in the same room right next to each other, and i just ended up leaving the line going into the modem alone and putting a splitter on one of the regular cable lines and running that to the tuner card

  5. #5
    TEH BANT
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    *Retired*
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,665
    Points
    8,277
    Level
    21
    Points: 8,277, Level: 21
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 173
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Rep Power
    0
    That's what I intended to do. However, the nearest seperate cable is about 10 meters away in another room. If anything, I'd have to run it outside but that involves drilling yet another hole through the wall in which the cable is located in.

    Thanks for the help guys. I'll let ya know how it went.

  6. #6
    TEH BANT
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    *Retired*
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,665
    Points
    8,277
    Level
    21
    Points: 8,277, Level: 21
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 173
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Rep Power
    0
    Well, I managed to split the cables.



    Chopped it in half, stripped the cable twice (once for the coat and another for the metal core), removed the shielding, and attatched a pair of connectors. And of course, electrical tape to hold it all together...

    Thanks for any help guys, it turned out great.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •